jabber-roster: back up the list of your Jabber contacts

I’m a backup fanatic. I try to backup all my personal data regularly. And I don’t mean just documents stored locally on my laptop. I also mean all my data located at various network services (“in the cloud”). Do you really believe that Google servers won’t suffer a major incident and won’t lose all your emails some day? I don’t. And what about your appointments in a web calendar, your RSS feeds in a web RSS reader, your photos at a web photo gallery, etc – do you believe it will stay there forever? I don’t. So I back up everything.

My last piece of “back-up scripts” is intended for backing up the list of my friends who use Jabber. It’s a very short and simple script – you just tell it the server, username and password of your Jabber account and it will print out the list of your friends (“the roster”). That’s all. It’s not much, but I don’t need anything more. Maybe you will find it useful too.

You can download it from here:
https://launchpad.net/jabber-roster

 

Leave a Reply (Markdown syntax supported)